Carded Yarn Clippings with Hand Stitching

I really like to find something to do using left over scraps. I think that it is a good idea to cultivate this mentality in order to value resources, and also it’s good fun to stretch the imagination, while finding an application for them.

In this case I was experimenting with some crochet in various yarns and once I had darned in all the ends I was left with snippets of different types of wool.

I decided to card them in order to separate the fibres out and alter the character from pieces of yarn to fibrous material. I really wanted to retain the ‘floaty’ character while somehow joining it together, I also liked the idea of small stitching so I decided to use hand stitching to hold the material together. I used watersoluble fabric to help as in places there is virtually no fibre to stitch through.

The result is an extremely light and fragile material where the different quality of fibres as well as the various inclusions from some of the more novelty yarns combine, giving a variety of texures and colours.

About lourdes

My inspiration comes from often subtle qualities found in nature, as well as aspects of fairytale and psychospirituality.

Leave a comment

Follow lourdestextiles on WordPress.com

Social

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 248 other subscribers

No Instagram images were found.