Cornwall

I wasn’t intending to post this entry yet as this is probably research material for a future project, however I will be off on holiday to the Lake District in a few weeks and no doubt there will be more inspiration for yet another future project!  It also continue’s yesterday’s theme of inspiration, so it seemed appropriate.

I went to Cornwall for a week on holiday in the autumn and it was amazing to experience the coast again.  Living in Birmingham, UK, unfortunately means that the sea is far away, so I felt the need to make the most of the opportunity.  I enjoyed a couple of hours takIng photos and collecting pebbles, shells and so on to take back home for inspiration.  I found that what was really fascinating was the different types of seaweed and they suggested all sorts of textural possibilities to experiment with.

Once they they have dried out the texture changes and the colours darken and intensify.

image

image

I find that it is very useful to think carefully about appropriate adjectives to describe objects used as sources of inspiration. Words can suggest many possible paths of exploration, directing the thought process to methods of interpretation informed by the research material and also suggesting less obvious routes.

image

Words suggest different textile techniques or approaches for experimentation.  Some of the ideas that come to my mind are rouleau loops to create long tubes of fabric, melting fabric to create bumpy rippled surfaces as well as crispy textures, clumps of tangled thread and fabrics made to look bedraggled by tearing and shredding.

I also found that shells found along the beach include striking patterns and textures.

image

I would love to investigate the potential of these shapes in relief; I have been attracted recently to ornate embroidery techniques such as beadwork and metal thread embroidery and I think that these shells could provide very suitable subject matter.

image

I have always really loved these little shells that can be found here on the British coast.  What I love about them is that in places the matt patterned coating has worn away to reveal an irridescent surface.  I think that the contrast, although subtle is stunning! Unfortunately the photos do not clearly capture the beautiful swirls of irridescent pink, green and blue.

image

I also think that the fine grey pattern is beautiful and I like the fact that they have been eroded away in places to leave holes.  I would like to perhaps interprete these characteristics using embroidery to recreate the pattern, on layers of fabric to imitate the different layers on the shells surface, as well as some cut work to suggest the holes.

Thank you so much for stopping by!  Much love.

Lourdes x

Leave a Reply

