Distorted Patchwork

I decided that I would like to explore the possibilities of distorting fabric further, as it could be interesting to combine different fabrics and compare their reaction to the bias-stitching (for those who don’t know, ‘bias’ refers to the  diagonal direction of the fabric, as opposed to the straight grain which runs along the lengthwise weave of the fabric or the crosswise grain which runs horizontally)

image

I was pleased with the results because they have a weathered appearance, which I was hoping to create.  I included some silk fabric which had been deliberately creased, to contribute to the distressed look.  It’s not that noticeable on the photo above,  so I have added the following photos to illustrate how distinctly textured, silk can become when purposefully creased.

These pieces of silk were washed and then twisted, tied and left to dry.

This crinkled effect is in keeping with some of the textures displayed on the plant matter I collected.

image

More experiments of bias-stitched patchwork, including some hand stitching to suggest that the fabric has been repaired.  To salvage, to repair and to heal are qualities I am also looking for ways of expressing, particularly in relation to the meaning of beauty and femininity.

As well as developing ideas for fabrics suitable for clothing, I am also experimenting with ideas for accessories and also embellishments (I love the word embellishment!) to use as decorations for garments.  I added some gathers to this piece of patchwork, which helped to create a three-dimensional floral shape.

I am really excited by the potential of combining different fabrics and investigating their response to bias-stitching.  I feel that the ability to control the distortion  and therefore the form of the material, suggests many applications.  I am also happy that  this technique is suitable for suggesting the ravages of time.

I would like to explore other textile techniques, also in relation to this theme;  such as crochet and hand embroidery and perhaps some felt making too.  Therefore, I will need to consider how these other crafts can combine with the twisting and meandering of the bias-stitched fabric to create  materials and ultimately garments and accessories.

Lourdes x

 

4 responses to “Distorted Patchwork

  1. Your pieces are gorgeous. I wish I had the time to experiment a little more.

  2. Ute

    Very interesting and beautiful, like it a lot. Ute

Leave a Reply

